Summary of Leviticus

Summary of Leviticus:

Leviticus 1-2: Animal Sacrifice/Offerings of Flour and Oil
Leviticus 3-4:  Don’t eat blood or Fat/Sinners forgiven through Sacrifices
Leviticus 5-6: Forgiveness comes through Trespass Offerings/Forgiveness through Atonement
Leviticus 7-8: Forgiveness through Sacrifice/ Washing and Anointing
Leviticus 9-10: Atonement by Sacrifice/ Unauthorized Sacrifices
Leviticus 11-12: What may or may not be eaten/The Law of Purification
Leviticus 13-14: The Law of Leprosy/Cleansing Lepers
Leviticus 15-16: Other types of Un-cleanliness/Forgiveness by Atonement
Leviticus 17-18: Don’t eat blood/Sex abominations
Leviticus 19-20: Commandments/laws of God/Sexual Sins
Leviticus 21-22: High Priest = Holy/ Sacrificial Animals are perfect
Leviticus 23-24: Weekly Sabbath/Law of Israel
Leviticus 25-27: Jubilee/Keep the Commandments/Tithing

Chapters 1-5 describe the sacrifices from the point of view of the common man in Israel. It covers what sacrifices are to be performed and what each one consists of. Chapters 6-7 go over much of the same material, but more from the point of view of the priest performing the sacrifice. The priest would be in charge of performing the actual ceremony and dividing up the sacrifice between God, the priest and the offerer. Sometimes however an entire sacrifice would be offered only to God, in the case of burnt ashes… etc.

Chapters 7-10 describe the consecration (by Moses) to Aaron and his sons, in order to become the first priests and the first ones to perform the sacrifices. It also discusses the importance of being not only authorized, but with the proper priesthood authority to exercise and perform certain ordinances, after two of the sons of Aaron do this without permission. Chapters 11-15 instruct the common people of Israel on purity and cleanliness. Eating certain animals or even touching them for that matter can be a violation of the commandments of God. These conditions of the animal or the person who ate/touched the animal can affect clothing, walls of a house. Each condition has certain ceremonies that must be performed and waiting periods to alleviate the sinner. In chapter 17, we read about the Day of Atonement, which is a day in which only the high priest can enter into the holiest part of the sanctuary, which is also known as the “holy of holies”. The priest sacrifices a bull for the priests and a goat for the common people (lay people), a third goat; “the scapegoat” is sent to the wilderness.

Chapters 17-26 contain much of the “Holiness Code”, which prohibits the slaughter of animals outside of the Temple, even for food. The code also gives a long list of sexual sins: which include: incest, homosexuality and bestiality. Penalties are imposed for those who worship Molech, or who consult wizards and other supernatural mediums. The code also includes: Mourning rituals for the priests, blasphemy punishments by death, rules for eating of sacrificial animals, the calendar is explained, rules for the Sabbath and the years of Jubilee are set. The end of the code tells Israel that they can either chose to follow those rules or be visited by horrible punishments and expulsion from the holy land for disobeying.HoHHHHG



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s