Summary of Daniel

Summary of Daniel:

Chapter by Chapter:

Daniel 1-2: Daniel/Nebuchadnezzar’s Dream

Daniel 3-4: Shadrach, Meshach and Abed-nego/Nebuchadnezzar’s Dream

Daniel 5-6: Daniel interprets the words/Daniel and the Lion’s Den

Daniel 7-8: The saint will receive the kingdom/Daniel sees a vision of two nations

Daniel 9-10: Daniel prays for Israel/Daniel sees the Lord

Daniel 11-12: The Second Coming of Christ/The wise shall know the signs of the end


Daniel, probably most famous for the story of “Daniel in the Lion’s Den” is a book made up of six court tales and four apocalyptic visions set in the time of the Babylonian captivity. The tales of chapters one through six contain detailed accounts of the Daniel and his three companions in the courts of Babylonian and Medo-Persian kings. They survive death threats, and mortal trials. Daniel interprets royal dreams and visions, foretelling both the individual punishment of the Babylonian kings and the overthrow of the entire empire they possess. In the four visions of chapter’s seven to twelve, Daniel himself experiences strange revelations. These all culminate in frightening depictions of a powerful king who, like the Babylonian rulers, attacks Israel, and defiles the Holy Temples.

Daniel, or the author (no one is sure who wrote the book) describes the end times when Jesus Christ would come to the earth.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s