Leviticus 15-16

Leviticus 15-16

Chapter 15: Other Types of Un-cleanliness

The Lord speaks to Aaron and Moses about skin issues and other unclean things. We learn in Matthew 9:19-21, that a “…woman, which was diseased with an issue of blood twelve years, came behind him (Jesus), and touched the hem of his garment: For she said within herself, If I may but touch his garment, I shall be whole. But Jesus turned him about, and when he saw her, he said, Daughter, be of good comfort; thy faith hath made thee whole. And the woman was made whole from that hour.” (Matthew 9:19-22)        

This woman had a disease with her blood, that made her unclean to the rest of the world. The fact that Jesus turned around and spoke with this woman, probably did not go over with many people, but shows the great love Jesus had for everyone. He had compassion on her, because of the great faith that she had.

We learn more about that “un-cleanliness” in the 15th chapter of Leviticus, where the Lord reveals these things to Moses and Aaron:

“…if a woman have an issue, and her issue in her flesh be blood, she shall be put apart seven days: a whosoever toucheth her shall be unclean…” (Leviticus 15:19)

After that “probation” period of seven days, if she is still unclean, she will remain unclean. The woman in Matthew had suffered being “unclean” for twelve years!

Chapter 16: Forgiveness by Atonement

If the congregation of Israel sins, then the priest (in this case Aaron) will receive 2 goats, and he will cast lots (basically like flipping a coin) to find out which goat will be sacrificed and which goat will become the “scapegoat”. The scapegoat is let free and resides in the wilderness until after the other goat is slain and sacrificed to the Lord as a burnt offering. Most of the same rituals and ceremonies that we have discussed in previous chapters are completed here as well. The only difference is that the blood is sprinkled seven times east -ward on the mercy seat.

After those ceremonies are completed the priest will then bring back the scapegoat and which both his hands placed on the head of the scapegoat, all of the sins and transgressions of the children of Israel at that moment are placed upon the head of this one goat. I am guessing that this is where we got the word “scapegoat” as the one who gets blamed for something that he or she really had no part in.

The Atonement is completed after this, as the scapegoat takes the sins of the children of Israel.

Leviticus 11-12

Leviticus 11-12

Chapter 11: What may or may not be eaten under the Law of Moses

The Lord speaks unto Moses and reveals to him what animals him and the children of Israel and can eat, and is commanded to speak unto the children of Israel and repeat what he was told.

Clean/Unclean Animals:

  • Any animals that are “clovenfooted” and “cheweth the cud” they shall eat.
  • Any animal that is “clovenfooted” and does not “cheweth the cud” they cannot eat.
  • Any animal that is not “clovenfooted” but “cheweth the cud” they cannot eat.
  • In other words the animal must both “chew the cud” and be “clovenfooted”

What is a “clovenfooted” animal? Cloven footed animal is one that has a hoof divided into two parts at its distal extremity (as of ruminants or swine)

What is it mean by “cheweth the clud”? The cud is that portion of food which is brought up into the mouth by ruminating animals from their first stomach, to be chewed a second time. To Ruminate (Rumination), is to chew again what was slightly chewed and swallowed. Animals like cows have to chew the food a second time.

So we learn that anything that has hoof that is divided and ruminates is ok for the children of Israel to eat.

For fish: Anything with fins and scales in the waters the children of Israel can eat. But if anyone eats something from any waters on earth that does not have scales and fins, it will become an abomination to the children of Israel.

These are the birds or fowl in the air, that the children of Israel are commanded not to eat:

  • Eagle
  • Ossifrage
  • Ospray
  • Vulture
  • Kite
  • Raven
  • Owl
  • Night Hawk
  • Cuckow
  • Little Owl
  • Great Owl
  • Swan
  • Pelican
  • Grier Eagle
  • Stork
  • Heron
  • Lapwing
  • Bat
  • and ANY fowl that creep, going on “all four” shall be an abomination to the children of Israel.

Israel, however may eat of a few animals that have four legs and fly:

  • the Locust
  • the Bald Locust
  • the Beetle
  • and the Grass Hopper.

Israel is also commanded to NOT eat:

  • Weasel
  • Mouse
  • Tortoise
  • Ferret
  • Chameleon
  • Lizard
  • Snail
  • Mole

Anyone that even touches an unclean animal, without washing themselves is considered unclean as well. It is a very grievous thing. The Lord commands Israel to “…be holy; for I am holy…” (Leviticus 11:44)

Chapter 12: The Law of Purification

Women after having a child are considered “unclean” for seven days. On the eighth day the child, if he be born male, shall be circumcised. (Leviticus 12:3). After that the woman continues to be unclean for 33 days, where she can touch no holy thing, or come into the sanctuary until her days of purifying be fulfilled. If the child be born female, then the woman is unclean for two weeks during her separation and then continues to be unclean for 66 days.

When her days of purification have been completed she needed to bring forth a burnt offering; either a lamb and a pigeon/turtledove or 2 pigeons and 2 turtledoves, so the priest could make an atonement for her. Then she would be clean again.